May 24, 2024
Menomena Surprise Release New EP The Insulation: Listen


Menomena have surprise released a new EP titled The Insulation. It’s the Portland art-rock group’s first new music since releasing their fifth album, Moms, in 2012. Listen to the three-song EP below.

While Menomena never formally broke up, original member Brent Knopf left the band in 2011 and remaining members Danny Seim and Justin Harris continued under the moniker for several more years. After releasing Moms, Menomena toured around the globe. They played their last show in 2014 in their hometown of Portland, Oregon.

It’s unclear if The Insulation EP is comprised of previously unreleased material or new songs. However, it’s worth noting that each song features a different member handling lead vocals, with Seim singing on the title track, Harris handling “Copious,” and Knopf taking the reins on closer “Caravan.” Pitchfork has reached out to representatives for the band for comment.

After leaving Menomena, Knopf released three albums under the moniker Ramona Falls and teamed up with the National’s Matt Berninger to form EL VY. Meanwhile, Seim returned to his solo project Lackthereof, releasing New Devonian last year, and Harris has been playing in Bloc Party off and on since 2015.

Read the Best New Music review of Menomena’s 2007 album Friend and Foe and see where I Am the Fun Blame Monster! landed on “The Top 50 Albums of 2003.”


Source link